^
MENU

Cultural Arts

Cultural Arts Logo

Throughout the years the generous support of the Patrons of the Arts has allowed us to present cultural arts programming that is stimulating, educational and entertaining.  Please join us as a Patron of the Arts this year.  We don’t want you to miss a word, a scene or a beat!

The Diane & Barry Wilen Jewish Book Festival has a line-up of authors that features some favorites like Brad Meltzer, some surprises like Carson Kressley and the most current, talked-about books.   Our successful series, JTalks and Wine & Words, continue this season with enlightening speakers, engaging authors and lively discussions.  The Jewish Film Festival will continue to bring first-run international films to our big screen.  And, our annual Jewish Music Festival will bring in performers sure to delight our community.  This season you will notice a new series of programs — Made in Israel.   This new series will showcase films, speakers, music and shows that have all originated in Israel.  Made in Israel gives us the perfect opportunity to connect our community with the people and culture of Israel.    

Wishing you and your families a happy and healthy new year.  Shana Tova!

Warmest regards,
Cindy Schneider
Vice Chair, Adult Services & Cultural Arts

Debbie Hochman
Director, Adult Services & Cultural Arts


 
To support the David Posnack JCC as a Patron of the Arts for the 2016-2017 season kindly click the button above to complete our online form.
For more information or questions, call Debbie Hochman at 954.434.0499, ext. 368 or email dhochman@dpjcc.org.


For more information call  954.434.0499, ext.336 or email lkirschenbaum@dpjcc.org.

Made in Israel Festival    
My Hero Brother
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, January 23, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More  Tickets will be available at the door or by calling 954.434.0499, ext. 336.
Ehud Manur Musical Program
Saturday, January 28 at 8:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

How Much Does Happiness Weigh?
with Ayelet Kalter

Tuesday, January 31 at 8:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets  

Tu B'Shvat Family Celebration
Sunday, February 12 at Noon | TY Park
 Learn More  Free Admission

Laughing Through Life Featuring Sigal Kahana
Thursday, March 16 at 8:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets  

Marrying an Ice Cream Factory
Monday, April 17 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Yom Hashoah Film Presentation - Aida's Secrets
Monday, April 24 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, May 1 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Yom Hazikaron Program
Thursday, April 27 at 7:00 p.m.
 Learn More  Free Admission

Yom Ha'atzmaut Family Celebration
Sunday, May 14 at Noon | C.B. Smith Park
 Learn More   

Diane & Barry Wilen Jewish Book Festival
   
Robert P. Watson
Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Betsy Lerner
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 7:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Women in Literature Moderated by Lynda Levin
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 at 11:00 a.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Community Read with Martha Hall Kelly
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

My Crazy Jewish Mother with Kate Siegel
Wednesday, March 29, 2017 at 6:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Lauren Belfer
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

JPS B'nai Mitzvah Torah Commentary
Book Launch with Rabbi Jeffrey K. Salkin

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More  Free Admission 

Wine & Design    
Wine & Design
Thursday, January 26 at 8:00 p.m. SOLD OUT
 Learn More  SOLD OUT

Wine & Design
Thursday, February 23 at 8:00 p.m.
 Learn More  Call 954.434.0499, ext. 336

Wine & Design
Thursday, March 30 at 8:00 p.m.
 Learn More  Call 954.434.0499, ext. 336

Wine & Design
Thursday, April 27 at 8:00 p.m.
 Learn More  Call 954.434.0499, ext. 336

Jewish Film Festival    
The Women's Balcony
Thursday, February 9, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, February 13, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Fanny's Journey
Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, February 20, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Harmonia
Saturday, February 18, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, February 27, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Once in a Lifetime
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, March 6, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Who's Gonna Love Me Now?
Thursday, February 23, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, March 13, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

The Second Time Around
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, March 20, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

The Pickle Recipe
Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, March 27, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Life, Animated
Sunday, March 5, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, April 3, 2017 at 1:00 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Cultural Arts Special Event    
David Grisman Bluegrass Experience
Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 8:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

 JTalks    
The Trump Presidency
Friday, February 3, 2017 at 10:30 a.m.
 Learn More 

 Purchase Tickets 


Sincerely, Norman Rockwell
Friday, February 17, 2017 at 10:30 a.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

From Tin Pan Alley to Broadway:
The Creators of the Great American Songbook

Friday, March 3, 2017 at 10:30 a.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Dylan
Friday, March 17, 2017 at 10:30 a.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Teaching the Holocaust
Myths, Misconceptions and Millennials
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Wine & Words    
Book Discussion - The Imperial Wife by Irina Reyn
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More   Purchase Tickets 

Jewish Music Festival    
Opus One Orchestra
Performs Selections from Who Cares?
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
 Learn More  Free Admission

Florida Youth Orchestra's Happy Concert
Sunday, April 2, 2017 at 1:30 p.m.
 Learn More  Free Admission 

​​​Our 2016-2017 Cultural Arts sponsors


Exclusive Bookseller for JBF
   

​​​Our 2016-2017 Cultural Arts Community Partners

American Cancer Society
Broward Public Library Foundation
Consulate General of Israel-Israeli House
DPJCC's Camp Giborim
Exceptional Theater Company
Florida Broward Region Hadassah
Florida-Israel Friendship League
Florida Youth Orchestra
The Friends of the Stirling Road Library
IAC - Israeli American Council
Jewish Federation of Broward County
Jewish Federation of Broward County Women's Philanthropy
Miami City Ballet Opus One Orchestra
Nova Southeastern University Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center
Nova Southeastern University Lifelong Learning Institute
Orloff Central Agency for Jewish Education
Sharsheret
Temple Etz Chaim
Temple Kol Ami Emanu-el
Women's International Zionist Organization